Where the Red Fern Grows, Wilson Rawls

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “Where the Red Fern Grows, Wilson Rawls”

  1. Brittany W. Says:

    In the book Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls, Rawls is trying to say that if you work hard to get or achieve something you can, in other words, determination. Also Billy, the main character’s relationship with his dogs and family. Billy wants two good coonhounds to hunt with, but his family can’t afford them. Billy works hard, by working for his grandfather and neighbors as well as more chores for his parents to earn the money that he needs to get the dogs. When he gets them,Billy decides to name them pups Old Dan and Little Ann. He can see that Old Dan is very brave, and that Little Ann is very smart from their journey home to their adventures coon hunting together…(SPOILER ALERT: Stop reading unless you want to learn about the ending of the book!…) While on a hunting trip, Billy’s hounds got attacked by a mountain lion. Old Dan was really torn up, his body was too damaged to survive, while Little Anne was just injured, badly, but just injured. Old Dan was then buried and then Little Ann ran away for Billy to then find Little Ann had died on Old Dan’s grave from heartache. After the two hounds had been buried side by side, a red fern grew.

    I’m not a fan of reading, but this book is one of my favorites; it has been since I was little, it’s a pretty inspiring book, and very touching yet also teaches some lessons. I have read this a few times, and it did make me cry once I was old enough to grasp the reality of it. I would recommend this to anyone who likes a good story whether they do or don’t like reading because it is a fantastic book.

    Recommendations: Heaven Is for Real by Todd Burpo, The Help by Kathryn Stockett, Envy by Gregg Olsen

  2. Nathan P. Says:

    Where the Red Fern Grows is about a boy named Billy who lives in the country, and as long as he can remember he has always wanted two coon hounds. Over the next two years he saves up enough money to buy his own. As they get older, he trains them to hunt and track animals he is hunting. Once they’re fully trained he enters and wins many contests. As time goes on they gain a special bond and they continue on life together!

    I’ve always wondered what this book was about! Unfortunately, I was unable to read it in fifth grade, but when I got the chance this year, I couldn’t pass it up! This book is a really great book, not just because the boy gets his dogs and wins contests, but because of how well written it is! It really has its ups and downs! But the ending is by far the saddest part of the book!

    5/5 Stars

    Recommendations:

    Night by Elie Wiesel
    The Hobbit by J.J.R Tolkien

  3. Mario R. Says:

    Summary: In the sad and adventurous book Where the Red Fern Grows, a boy named Billy lives in the countryside also known as Ozark, and he constantly desires two hunting dogs. Once he gets them, after saving up money, he names them Little Anne and Old Dan. He trains them to hunt, training them from worst to best, and they learn quickly, growing up to be really good hunting dogs. They run into many problems such as wild animals. This book perfectly explains the benefits of trying your hardest to reach something.

    Personal Review: I was read this book one time in 4th grade by my teacher Mr. Larrison. It was a great book, but a little too sad for my taste, otherwise I think it’s a great user friendly book.

    Rating: 4/5 Stars

    Recommendations: The Hunger Games Series (1st book: Hunger Games), Storm Breaker, Lord of the Flies

  4. Jackson R. Says:

    Summary:
    Where the Red Fern Grows , by Wilson Rawls, is an incredible story involving a young boy named Billy Coleman. Billy dreams about having a dog, but not just any old dog, a coon hunting dog. Billy not only wants one dog but he wants two dogs. The story shows how Billy saved up enough money to buy his own dogs. Billy and his dogs form a strong bond between each other, and they are always watching over each other, like an incident occurring down at the river. The story shows how his two dogs become top dogs at the coon hunting competition. The three of them find themselves in a lot of trouble with Mr. cougar near the end.

    Review: This is by far the most touching book I read; I’ve never felt this way toward a book. I went out and saw the movie, and it was just as good. I thought the author really showed how hard Billy worked for these dogs. The word choices he used were very good to show the feelings of Billy persistence. Overall I would read this book again, because I’m sure I would catch things I missed in the first time. It is my favorite book, and it is a must read for people that enjoy books about dogs.

    Rating: 5 stars out of 5 stars
    * * * * *

    Recommendations:
    The Absolutely True Diary Of a Part Time Indian, Charlotte’s Web

  5. Emma B. Says:

    Summary: Billy Coleman wants nothing more than to own his own coon hounds. He works and saves his money for two years before he can finally own them. Once he has his pups, Old Dan and Little Anne, Billy and his hounds become the best hunters in the county. Where The Red Fern Grows is a story about loyalty, friendship and never giving up.

    Review: This book made me laugh, cry and kept me turning the pages. It’s a classic book that everyone should read. It really made me think about how if you work hard enough for something, it pays off. I definitely recommend this story.

    Rating: 5 stars

    Recommendations: When You Reach Me, Distant Waves, Art of Racing In the Rain

  6. Jeremy L. Says:

    Billy Coleman is a young boy who lives out in the country. He soon discovers he wants two coon dogs. He saves up all his money and purchases some dogs. The story shows how his dogs grow from the worst hunters to the best. Billy encounters some issues including cougars and huge trees. The story is all about the adventures the three have.

    Evaluation: Overall I thought this was a great book; for sure will I remember it for my entire life. Even though it was a little juicy eyed at parts, his writing style evened it out.

    Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Recommendations: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian,
    Lord of the Flies

  7. Michaela B. Says:

    Where the Red Fern Grows is about a boy named Billy. He lives in the country and wants two hunting dogs more than anything. He saves his money up for two years and gets two hound dogs. He takes them hunting in the woods by his house. They become amazingly good at tracking and hunting animals. They end up going into a hunting dog competition. Many wild things happen on the journey he takes with his hound dogs.

    I love this book and always have. I have read it three times now, and it still hasn’t gotten old. Every time I read it, I realize new things about it. Although this story is heart breaking, it’s worth reading!

    5 starts out of 5

    Recommendations: Holes, The Hunger Games, and Charlotte’s Web

  8. Andrew L. Says:

    It’s about a boy, named Billy Coleman, growing up in the Ozarks who one day realizes he wants two hunting dogs. His parents can’t afford to buy him two coon hounds, so he saves up for two years until he has $50 and buys them, but he is impatient for the delivery. At night he walks over to the next town and picks them up. After many years of training the dogs, they are ready for hunting and he enters multiple contests and wins. One night however, they find a cougar, and things take a turn for the worse.

    I’d give it a 5/5 stars, because it is no doubt my favorite book of all time. It was perfect; the characters, the plot, the storyline, I loved it all.

    I’d recommend Lord of the Flies and Charlotte’s Web.

  9. Bailey M. Says:

    Where the Red Fern Grows is about a boy named Billy who lives in the country and wants two hunting dogs. He saves for two years, in order to get the hound dogs. Then he trains them to hunt and track animals. They begin to go out into the wild and hunt, mainly raccoons. They embark on many adventures together.

    I loved this book; my mom read it to me when I was younger, but I didnt really remember it, so I thought I would pick it up for a try. It turned out to be one of my favorite books.

    I rate it 5/5 stars.

    Recommendations: Walter Dean Myers books.

Leave a Reply

