The Lover’s Dictionary, David Levithan

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “The Lover’s Dictionary, David Levithan”

  1. Molly Says:

    Summary:
    The Lover’s Dictionary, by David Levithan, creatively tells the story of a couple’s relationship through dictionary entries. Levithan recounts a tale we are all familiar with—a love story—but he tells it in a new and completely surprising way. The story is told solely alphabetically, so while each entry gives the reader more information about the couple, it does not provide any sort of timeline for the reader to follow. At the end of each entry, the couple could be in any high or low point in their relationship, and it is difficult for the reader to pinpoint which it is.

    Evaluation:
    It took me a few pages to get into the style of this book, but once I did I really began to enjoy it. Other books that contain love stories (all books) convey the characters’ feelings through their actions, words, and thoughts, but I think The Lover’s Dictionary expresses it all much more deeply. The writing style itself in this book expresses the confusion the two people feel without actually saying it out loud, simply by leaving the reader just as confused as the two characters are. I think the entire book is an example of the phrase “Show, don’t Tell.” Everybody in a relationship at some point will feel some doubt and confusion as to what in the world the other person wants from them, and in this book it is very easy to feel this doubt because, just like the characters, we never really know if they will stay together or what comes next. As with my two predecessors to reviewing this book, I didn’t know it was about a same-sex couple until after I’d finished it. As this is a quick read, I think I may end up rereading it now that I know more about the story.

    Rating: 4 stars

    Recommendations: Will Grayson, Will Grayson; An Abundance of Katherines, It’s Kind of a Funny Story, The Fault in Our Stars

  2. Sydney SH. Says:

    Summary:
    The Lover’s Dictionary is a book filled with short stories about this couple’s relationship. The author puts the stories in alphabetical order, rather than chronological order, leaving the reader to piece together the stories. After each entry the reader is given more and more information about the relationship that is being told.

    Evaluation:
    When I read The Lover’s Dictionary I was immediately drawn in by the writing style, since I’ve never been much of a reader, short interesting pages seemed appealing to me. I was easily sucked in to the relationship between the writer and who he was writing about. Only after I read the book did I find out that it is about a same sex relationship, which makes me want to go and read the whole book over again because that would give me a whole new perspective on the book. I highly recommend this book to any and all students.

    Recommendations: Deadline, Looking for Alaska

  3. bachbooks Says:

    Summary:
    The Lover’s Dictionary uses a series of dictionary entries from A to Z to tell the story of a relationship. Each entry provides a verbal fragment which the author combines to create a mosaic llustrating the beginning, middle, and end? of the love between the two main characters. Levithan arranges the pieces alphabetically rather than chronologically, as he creatively defies the structural conventions of traditional novels and tells an age-old tale (the love story) in a new and inventive way.

    Evaluation:
    This 2012 Alex Award winner hooked me with its simple, innovative style and intriguing storyline. After I was a third of the way through the book, I learned from a review that the book describes a same sex relationship. Levithan captures clear and simple truth of relationships in such a way that I could easily relate. I appreciated his frank portrayal of love’s highs and lows and look forward to reading more of his books.

    Recommendations: Will Grayson, Will Grayson; Looking for Alaska, The Fault in Our Stars, An Abundance of Katherines

Leave a Reply

