Maus I, Art Spiegelman

maus-cover1

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Maus I, Art Spiegelman”

  1. bachbooks Says:

    Summary:
    In this graphic novel Art Spiegelman tells the story of interviewing his father Vladek about the father’s experiences in Poland before and during WWII; he also depicts his father’s recollections in graphic novel format. The title of the book echoes Spiegelman’s portrayal of the Jews as mice, Germans as cats, and Poles as pigs. Maus I details the courtship of Spiegelman’s parents and the deadly “cat and mouse” games they were forced to play as they attempted to evade the Nazis and escape the Holocaust.

    Evaluation:
    I have long intended to read this classic/foundational graphic novel, but I never made the time until now. It didn’t take long to read, but it will long remain in my memory. As an English teacher, I used Eli Wiesel’s Night in my freshman English classes, so I have read and reread that poetic first-person testimony, and, in my limited experience, it’s the definitive literary account of the Holocaust. Reading Maus I gave me a different and more distant perspective on similar events. Spiegelman’s use of animal species for graphic ethnic coding strikes me as a clever reinforcement of the ethnic nature of his father’s persecution. Knowing his parents survived WWII makes me eager to read the second volume to learn the details of their escape.

    Rating: 4 stars

    Recommendations: Night, Persepolis, The Kite Runner, The Diary of Anne Frank

  2. Nicholas Ditto Says:

    Fantastic graphic novel; truly one of the greats.

Leave a Reply

