Allegiant, Veronica Roth

allegiant

Tags: ,

One Response to “Allegiant, Veronica Roth”

  1. bachbooks Says:

    Summary:
    In Allegiant, Tris must decide if she will stay in the city or escape to the unknown world beyond the fence. She joins a group of friends and compatriots who opt to try life outside the city. When they travel beyond “the fringe” and reach the relative physical and emotional safety and security of the Bureau of Genetic Welfare compound, they uncover disturbing revelations about life in the city and the motivations and prejudices of their bureau overseers. Tris and Four react to these revelations in different ways, and Four’s involvement with a revolutionary plot threatens to end their relationship. Meanwhile, Tris struggles to forgive her brother Caleb for his earlier betrayal.

    Evaluation:
    When I started reading Allegiant, I realized I should have re-read (or at least reviewed) Insurgent before picking up the series finale. It took me about 50 pages to remember the characters and another 50 pages before I cared what happened to them. I eventually found my way back into the story, but I never really lost myself in that world. This could mean that I have read too much dystopian YA literature lately, or it could mean that I didn’t really care about the characters anymore. When I read Divergent, I found myself swept up in the raw energy of Tris’ initiation into the Dauntless and her budding passion for Four. As I read Allegiant, I found myself hardly caring what happened to any of the characters. I began the Divergent series after hearing it proclaimed “better than the Hunger Games,” and I found the first two books about even, but the Hunger Games sustained my attention and had a way more satisfying conclusion.

    Rating: 2 stars

    Recommendations: Divergent, Ship Breaker, The Drowned Cities, The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game

Leave a Reply

