September Girls, Bennett Madison

september girls

Tags: ,

One Response to “September Girls, Bennett Madison”

  1. bachbooks Says:

    Summary:
    Sam’s mom left town months ago, and, just before the end of the school year, his dad takes Sam and his older brother to spend the summer at the beach. When they arrive, Sam notices the place is filled with strangely beautiful girls who all seem attracted to him. He meets a few of these girls, and then his brother starts dating Kristle, while Sam takes an interest in her “sister” DeeDee. Kristle continues to (aggressively) pursue Sam, and DeeDee appears hot and cold to him as he tries to unravel the mystery of the September Girls.

    Evaluation:
    Not really a fan of supernatural teen mystery romances, I found this book entertaining but not engrossing. The author created a mysterious situation to drive the plot, but he didn’t quite sell me on Sam. Some readers may be put off by the cursing, drinking, smoking, and sexual references littered throughout the book. The language didn’t bother me as much as my general indifference toward the main character. (Though I wouldn’t go so far as to quote the Digital Underground, “Your real name is probably Bradford or Bennett, your verbal baggage ain’t got nothin’ in it.”) Sam interested me, and I read to find out what would happen to him, but I never really felt like I knew him or even cared about him much. Perhaps Winger’s Ryan Dean West raised my expectations for a male teen narrator to a degree which will prove impossible to match, but that won’t stop me from reading.

    Rating: 3.5 stars

    Recommendations: Winger, Looking for Alaska, Deadline, Eleanor & Park, I Am the Messenger, An Abundance of Katherines, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian

Leave a Reply

