Midwinterblood, Marcus Sedgwick


Tags: ,

One Response to “Midwinterblood, Marcus Sedgwick”

  1. bachbooks Says:

    In Midwinterblood, Marcus Sedgwick weaves together seven stories about the inhabitants of the mysterious island of Blessed. Starting with a visiting reporter in the future (2073) and working back to the Viking era of “the 10th Century,” two characters, Eric and Merle, appear and reappear in each story in various incarnations with shifting relationships. Whether they appear as adult strangers, siblings, parents, or children, love brings them together and inspires them to make sacrifices for each other.

    Midwinterblood won the 2014 Printz Award, but it did not win my heart. While I liked the connections between the various stories, I found each one too quickly spun and then jettisoned. This made for a quick read, but it also made each story feel disposable. I knew the stories would quickly resolve themselves and in some way link to the surrounding stories. By the end of the book I enjoyed noting the clues from prior stories as they surfaced, and I know some readers will love the mystery and suspense of Midwinterblood.

    Rating: 3 stars

    Recommendations: Every Day, Life After Life, The Book Thief, I Am the Messenger, Code Name Verity, Rose Under Fire, Slaughterhouse-Five

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: